In some­what of a sur­prise move today, Face­book announced it will be forc­ing Ocu­lus own­ers to log into their Face­book accounts to use their devices. This will begin in just two months, in October.

The com­pa­ny announced the update on the Ocu­lus blog, list­ing the changes expect­ed to come soon:

  • Every­one using an Ocu­lus device for the first time will need to log in with a Face­book account.
  • If you’re an exist­ing user and already have an Ocu­lus account, you’ll have the option to log in with Face­book and merge your Ocu­lus and Face­book accounts.
  • If you’re an exist­ing user and choose not to merge your accounts, you can con­tin­ue using your Ocu­lus account for two years.

If you choose not to merge accounts, you can still use your Ocu­lus, but full func­tion­al­i­ty will require the use of a Face­book account. It was stat­ed that most step would be tak­en so own­ers could keep using con­tent pur­chased, but that they “expect some games and apps” to no longer work after this update.

Using a VR pro­file that is backed by a Face­book account and authen­tic iden­ti­ty helps us pro­tect our com­mu­ni­ty and makes it pos­si­ble to offer addi­tion­al integri­ty tools. For exam­ple, instead of hav­ing a sep­a­rate Ocu­lus Code of Con­duct, we will adopt Facebook’s Com­mu­ni­ty Stan­dards as well as a new addi­tion­al VR-focused pol­i­cy. This will allow us to con­tin­ue to take the unique con­sid­er­a­tions of VR into account while offer­ing a more con­sis­tent way to report bad behav­ior, hold peo­ple account­able, and help cre­ate a more wel­com­ing envi­ron­ment across our plat­forms. And as Face­book adds new pri­va­cy and safe­ty tools, Ocu­lus can adopt and ben­e­fit from them too.

Source: Ocu­lus Blog